return to championships

1990 State Tennis Champion

Mount Michael Wins “B” Title

Elkhorn Mount Michel swept the doubles championships to outscore Omaha Gross for the Class B state tennis championship at Woods Park Friday. The Knights scored 49 points to defeat Gross, which scored 30 of its 38 points in singles play as Brian Kelly won No. 1 singles and teammate Mike Klemme reigned in No. 2 play.

Kelly defeated Brett Eakins of Paxton 6-1, 7-5 in the championship match. Klemme won his title with a 6-3, 6-3 win over Jim Auxier of Waverly. Mount Michael’s Ryan Beller and Andy Lanik, seeded No. 2 won the No. 1 doubles championship by upsetting top seeds Cory Hunzeker and Jon Aerni of Columbus 6-3, 6-2 in the title match.

In the No. 2 doubles, Dan Beninato and Doug Larson of Mount Michael defeated Greg Ganser and Bryan Coniglio of Lincoln Pius 6-3, 6-4 in the championship match. Mount Michael also got a third-place finish from John Harris in No.1 singles and a fourth-place finish from Colin Caudill in No. 2 singles.