return to championships

1991 State Tennis Champion

Mount Michael Claims Crown in “B” Tennis

Elkhorn Mount Michael, which advanced both doubles teams to championship matches, won the Class B boys state tennis title on Friday for the third straight year.

Head coach Rev. Michael Liebl felt his team had good chance going into the tournament. “We thought we had a good opportunity, ” Liebl said. “We had won all the tournaments we had played in this year. It looked like at least from draw, we’d have a good opportunity. The No. 1 doubles played very well today and we had relied on the two doubles teams to get us most of our points.”

Mount Michael’s No. 2 doubles team of Colin Caudill and John McLean defeated Valley’s Gary Nafus and Bryce Lindgren. The No. 1 Knights’ doubles team of Doug Larson and Joel Lanik lost to Dan Bratetic and Mike Klemme of Omaha Gross. Larson and Lanik have played on all three state championship teams.

“The No.1 singles and No. 2 singles teams both finished in third place, which is kind of what we had hope they would do,” Liebl said. T. J. Thomsen of Mount Michael defeated Sean Lescelius of Columbus, 7-5, 6-3 in the No. 2 singles consolation round.