return to championships

2011 State Journalism Champions

Individual awards

Michael Sojka: 1st Place Advertising Bao Yim: 2nd Place Editorial Cartooning
Graham Jewell: 1st Place Editorial Writing Grant Parr: 3rd Place Editorial Writing
Vince Van Haute: 1st Place Entertainment Review Writing Grant Parr: 1st Place, Headline Writing
Pat DeWald: 2nd Place Headline Writing Nate Van Haute: 3rd place Newspaper Feature writing
James Benson: 2nd Place Info Graphic Michael Sojka: 3rd place Info Graphic
Pat DeWald: 3rd Place News Writing Pat DeWald: 3rd place News Writing
Michael Sojka: 1st place Photo Illustration James Benson: 2nd Place Photo Illustration
James Benson: 2nd place Sports/Action Photography James Benson: 3rd place News/Feature Photography
Darren Chew: 1st place Sports Feature Writing Vince Van Haute: 2nd Place Sports Feature Writing
Nate Van Haute: 1st Place Yearbook Feature Writing James Benson: 1st Place Yearbook Layout
Joe Sobczyk 3rd place Yearbook Sports Feature Writing Grant Parr: Yearbook theme Copy Writing
James Benson, Michael Bohnhoff, Bobby Thomas, Vince Van Haute, Pat DeWald, Dylan Venteicher: 3rd Place In-depth Newspaper coverage. James Benson, Jun Haeng Ho, Dylan Venteicher: 3rd Place Yearbook Theme Development

Nine Members of the journalism team qualified as individuals and competed against all classes in numerous journalism competitions. They returned with the most “All Class Medalists” ever!

2nd – editorial writing – Graham Jewell
6th – sports feature writing – Darren Chew
1st – headline writing – Grant Parr
1st – yearbook theme writing – Grant Parr
4th – yearbook feature writing – Nate Van Haute
1st – advertising – Michael Sojka

return to championships