Return to Championships

Nebraska Class B Cross Country Champions

Standing Nick Huetter, Tom Swanson (asst. coach), Zach Cairney, Dylan Parlor (asst. coach), Charles Dudek (asst. coach), Coach John Gathje, Peyton Hottovy, Eric Crawford (asst. coach), Jack Blaser, Kneeling: Sam VanHaute, Zach Hytrek, Nick Carson

The Mount Michael Knights came away with another state championship by the narrowest margin possible, one point over surprise Plattsmouth. This is the 9th Cross Country Championship for The Mount, the 6th under coach Gathje.

The Knights were led by Zach Hytrek with a 7th place medal while Nick Carson earned a 10th place medal. Sam VanHaute & Peyton Hottovy just missed out as individual medalists with 17th and 18th place finishes. The team’s long term goal was accomplished: State for Nate. Nate LaFave would have been a senior on the cross country team. As all familiar with Mount Michael know, his life was cut short in a tragic car accident in October 2013. Nate’s mother was present and assisted Coach Gathje in presenting the team with their championship medals.

Top 5 Teams

1. 50 Mount Michael Benedictine
2. 51 Plattsmouth
3. 78 Lexington
4. 86 Skutt Catholic
5. 90 Aurora

Return to Championships