Awards Night

Once again, it is time to celebrate the many accomplishments of the Mount’s students during this past school year.

Photo of Coach Spooner presenting Athlete of the Year award to Sid deMayo

Mr. Derrick Spooner and Sid deMayo

Evening Highlights:

The program began with athletic awards presented by Activities Director Mr. Derrik Spooner. This year’s Athlete of the Year was Sid deMayo. Sid quarterbacked the Knights to their first winning season in over a decade and is an important part of the both the spring and American Legion baseball teams. Sid is the Son of Miles and Lynn deMayo and attends Christ the King Parish.

Ms Gina Fosco presented the Key Staffer Award to Cole Kalkowski. This award is sponsored by the Omaha World Herald newspaper in recognition of each metro areas schools’ outstanding journalism student. Cole is an editor for “The Mount”. He is the son of Chris and Marsha Kalkowski and is a member of Saint Bernard Parish in Omaha.

Sophomore Kyle Pelan was selected as Mount Michael’s Omaha Exchange Club’s Sophomore of the Year Award. Kyle is the son of Katie and the late Mark Pelan. Kyle is a member of St. Wenceslaus Parish in Omaha.

Ms Noelle Hinrickson announced the American Legion Cornhusker Boy’s State participants. Boy’s State is open to current junior students who are in scholastically good standing, model good citizenship and leadership qualities, are in good health, and are willing to spend eight continuous days at the program during the first week of June. This year Mount Michael has two young men representing us at Boy’s State: Jacob Gathje and Kolton Koubsky. Jacob is the son of John and Melissa Gathje. Jacob is a member or St. Patrick’s parish in Elkhorn. Kolton is the son of Ken and Kristin Koubsky of Millard. Kolton is a member of St. Stephen the Martyr Parish.

The Rotary Club of Omaha West honored an outstanding Mount Michael senior at their annual Senior Recognition Day luncheon. This individual was selected based on his record of service to class, school, and community, as well as citizenship. Trevin Detwiler is Mount Michael’s 2019 Rotary Club Award recipient.

The President’s Award for Educational Excellence is an honorary award presented to seniors who meet the following criteria: they must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better and tests at the 85th percentile or above on either the ACT (which is a 28) or the SAT (which is a 1310). These students must demonstrate high motivation, initiative, integrity, intellectual depth, leadership qualities, judgement, involvement in community service, extra-curricular activities. Mount Michael had 32 students from the class of 2019 recognized for the President’s Award for Educational Excellence: Temi Adeyemo, Nick Akers, Laken Beller, Jacob Benes, Stefano Brunelli, Jarrett Cline, Donovan Clements, Patrick Collins, Alex Crnkovich, Jimmy Crotty, Daniel Davies, Sid deMayo, Trevin Detwiler, Matthew Draper, Sam Eberle, Patrick Fayad, Shintaro Fujita, J.P. Jensen, Cole Kalkowski, Robert Khorram, Levi Kicken, Devin Luque, Colin Mallisee, Quinton Mohr, Max Nguyen, Sam Peters, Jacob Rapoza, Gerald Righter, Andrew Shellberg, Jae Shin, Nolan Zeger, Kevin Zhang.

Dr. Peters presents Trevin Detwiler with the Mount Michael Award

Trevin Detwiler with Dr. David Peters

The evening concluded with Dr. David Peters, Head of School, presenting the coveted Mount Michael Award which is given to the senior who best epitomizes the values and character of a Mount Michael Knight. This year’s recipient of the Mount Michael Award is Trevin Detwiler. He is the son of John & Caralee Detwiler of Omaha. Trevin is a member of Holy Cross Parish.